Organizing Committee

ISSW Banff 2014 Organizing Committee

The ISSW was born in Banff in 1976, when for the first time 120 delegates came together to network and share knowledge on snow science and practical avalanche forecasting. 

The conference returned to Banff again in 1996, when 478 delegates gathered for the 10th ISSW. Since then, the conference has grown to almost 1000 delegates, who will once again converge in Banff for the 21st ISSW.

ISSW's are only possible through the tireless volunteer efforts of the organizing committee.  Below is a list of our committee for 2014.

  Committee Members

Grant Statham

Administration & Registration
Susan Hairsine

Volunteer Co-ordinator
Mike Kopang, Burke Duncan and Jeremy MacKenzie of Kananaskis Provincial Park Public Safety

Social Events
Rocket Miller, Craig Sheppard, Brad and Lake Louise Ski Area Snow Safety Team

Field Trips
Brendan Martland, Kevin Hjertaas and the Sunshine Village Ski Patrol


Diva Night

Lisa Paulson, Mischi Boehnisch, Anna Brown, Emily Grady, Michelle Wiegele and Mary Clayton

John Gillette

Science Program
Pascal Haegeli and James Floyer

Refreshments & Transportation
Rowan Harper

Mary Clayton and Dawn Walton

Ian Tomm


Art Show & Auction
Brad White

Donna White

Aaaron Beardmore, Grant Statham and Jeremy Mackenzie

Trade Show
Dave Stark

Yogi Simulcast Man

Social Media Guru
Ian Jackson

Practitioner Workshops
Marc Piche and Peter Tucker


Thanks to the following organizations who are supporting
their staff to help organize ISSW 2014.